// book review + discussion: i'll give you the sun by jandy nelson

Title: I'll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publication: Walker Books 
Format: Paperback, 429 pages
Genre: Young Adult

Good Reads // Amazon // Book Depository 


A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell 

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.


Thank you to Department 51 for giving me this book in return for an honest review. 

When I saw this in Fully Booked in the Philippines, this book caught my eye immediately because of the really artsy book cover and I was tempted to get one (thankfully I was able to stop myself because i already had a copy back in Ireland). This book is about family, friendship, love and forgiveness and I loved every moment I was reading I'll Give You The Sun. 

The story was perfection! I was drawn to the plot of the book. The story is about twins who were inseparable before and now they were barely speaking and avoiding each other because of some incident that happened to them. It was thought provoking because how could two blood-related twins not talk to each other. This book was written in two-person POV and I loved it because we get an in-depth grasp of Noah and Jude's characters and get to know the two better. Noah talks more about their life before, whilst Jude talks about how their lives are now. This book is such an emotional ride. It made me laugh, made me insides jgkrcntnv inside and of course sympathise with the characters. Did I mention it has LGBT characters? It makes me so happy that there's starting to be a lot of gay characters introduced in YA novels since they're mostly treated as minorities. I've also highlighted a lot of quotes in the book (cos it's so relatable!)

“Reality is crushing. The world is a wrong-sized shoe. How can anyone stand it?” 

Jude and Noah both holds a special place in my heart. What I loved most about them is how they aren't perfect. They are flawed. And I have a weakness from flawed characters. Both of them have contrasting personalities and yes, they are my precious babies. Reading I'll Give You The Sun was like being there with them as things starts to unravel. I've read them break, become mean to each other and make mistakes. The romance isn't lacking either. This book will make you feel all sorts of feelings.  Noah and Brian then Jude and Oscar. They're just so cute and I want to protect them at all costs.

“I gave up practically the whole world for you,” I tell him, walking through the front door of my own love story. “The sun, stars, ocean, trees, everything, I gave it all up for you.” 

“Meeting your soul mate is like walking into a house you've been in before - you will recognize the furniture, the pictures on the wall, the books on the shelves, the contents of drawers: You could find your way around in the dark if you had to.”

“I'm thinking the reason I've been so quiet all those years is only because Brian wasn't around yet for me to tell everything to.”

As you can tell, I absolutely love this book! I can't tell you guys enough how amazing this book is. I LOVE IT SO MUCH. SO YES. GO GET THE BOOK NOW OR GO TO THE LIBRARY AND BORROW IT. EVERY SECOND YOURE NOT READING IT, YOU'RE MISSING OUT. 


  1. I read this review and I just want to cry. This book is precious. I have no words to explain how much I love it. So many feels!

    1. it's such a good book, i enjoyed reading it so much!

  2. i can't wait to pick up this book! but i have so many books on my tbr list that i need to read *sobs* good thing i alrrady have a hard copy of this book (in the us edition though). i agree that the cover is gorgeous. *hear eyes* lovely review, isha!! xxx xan

    1. i actually want this in us edition! *le sobs* im meeting her this sunday and i was hoping i would get a us hardcover signed but now its too if i ordered from book depository :-(((( thanks xan for the lovely comment and for visiting the blog!

      xx isha

  3. I have been wanting to read this book for forever! The quotes alone are wonderful, but the idea is so intriguing. Never seen that cover before though! I think I like it better than the US version.

    1. you need to read it soon! yeah uk covers tend to have a different cover than the us ones. don't worry though, must us covers look better than the uk ones. most of my books are actually us covers despite living in ireland 🙈

      thanks for visiting the blog!